The 2020 WWF-SASSI Trailblazer Chefs

The year 2020 commemorates the 16 year journey of the SASSI programme which has become a popular household name across SA. This has been achieved by building knowledge about seafood species and collectively working with consumers, chefs, restaurants, retailers/supplier and fisheries to fundamentally shift attitudes towards understanding the complex issue of seafood sustainability and drive informed choices.

CONGRATULATIONS to our WWF-SASSI Trailblazer Chefs 2020! We celebrate six South African chefs, who play a pivotal role in this journey by awarding them WWF-SASSI Trailblazer status for their commitment to the use of sustainable seafood and championing sustainable seafood practices in their restaurants.
The 2020 WWF-SASSI Trailblazer recipients are:

Chef Andrew Atkinson – Shalati
Chef Neill Anthony – La Mouette
Chef Judi Fourie – Pilcrow & Cleaver
Chef Jamie Friedberg – Between Us
Chef Christina Semczyszyn – Tjing Tjing
Chef Jess Van Dyk – Protege

The chefs were chosen on the basis of the following factors which has rigorous criteria:

  • The restaurant’s seafood sustainability policy.
  • The effectiveness of their communication of their seafood sustainability practices to their customers, employees and suppliers.
  • Their level of engagement in communicating their seafood sustainability practices to a wider audience.
  • The ‘Trailblazer factor’ – chefs and restaurants going the extra mile in promoting and supporting seafood sustainability.

Commenting on the awards Pavs Pillay, manager of the SASSI Programme with WWF-SA, said; “Chefs serve as the gatekeepers for the food and hospitality industry and so play a critical role in leading market forces, influencing popular taste and promoting ocean-friendly seafood. Chefs that lead the way in sustainability are true ocean stewards.

Our partnership with them is inspired by their commitment to help restore our overexploited seafood species and safeguard our ocean. The chefs we recognise have gone the extra mile in advocating the sustainability message. Congratulations to all the winners!